Driving the point home: More about Nicki Minaj and horrible sampling

Posted: March 22, 2011 in Rants
Tags: , , , ,

I really hate to be redundant like this, but I just heard something that burns to the very core of me with hatred. A couple of days ago I was listening to the radio and the new Nicki Minaj/Will.i.am song “Check it out” came on. I would like to start by saying that this in an abortion of a song. The formula for the song is basically:

Horrible rhymes from auto-tuned Will.i.am + auto-tuned Nicki Minaj talking about how great she is + “check it out” repeated over and over again + a sound sample = Utter shit.

In fact, the only thing I liked about the song was the sound sample that they stole and even that was ruined for me after it was used so many times. It actually took me a bit to realize where I recognized the sound clip from, I forced myself to listen the song until I remembered. Luckily the answer came to me and I was able to change the station before the song forced me to commit suicide. The sample they used in the chorus of  “Check it out”  was “Oh, Oh”, which was in “Video Killed The Radio Star” by The Buggles. I don’t just mean it was the same words; it is literally the exact same sound clip. I played them side by side, and there’s no doubt about it.

(Unfortunately, youtube videos of this song can only be viewed on youtube)


This pisses me off to no end. Why can’t these artists just make their own music? Are their songs really so bad that they need to take catchy parts from other songs in hopes that they can polish what is obviously the lyrical equivalent of a sack of crap? It doesn’t work!

In the song Nicki Minaj says “Haters you can kill yo-self”.  I would not be surprised if this song caused a wave of mass suicides across the nation, and then a second wave once the rest of the world translated these god-awful lyrics.

I have a proposition for all of you would-be music samplers out there. If you are going to sample a recognizable and prominent part of someone else’s work, then you have to name your work after them or work in the original title somehow. So in this case the original song was called “Video Killed The Radio Star” so the new version should be called “Check it out, Nicki Minaj ruined the Music Industry”.

(Just look at this as the second part of my last article, I promise my next post won’t be on this topic)


~Darion

Comments
  1. Davo says:

    ouch.
    i love how these non-artists in the industry continue to fight for the term “sample”.
    and not just in hiphop and rap, but also in the disgustingly popular (for now), dubstep.

    i miss the good ol’ days when people used to actually care about their art. unfortunately, i don’t see this trend of stolen hooks and auto-tune going away anytime soon.

    r.i.p. artist integrity.

  2. Karli says:

    So glad you addressed the terribleness of the this song, D. I heard it a while back and let out a few sobs.

  3. Darion says:

    The only thing Nicki Minaj is good at is making weird faces. Which is slightly entertaining, but only on some sort of infantile curiosity level.

  4. buy tramadol says:

    Great .Now i can say thank you!

Leave a Reply

